What to do with old license plates Nevada

How toRegister Your VehicleRegistering your vehicle in the state of Nevada is required for anyone that is a resident of the state, or certain non-residents that fit specific criter

What to do with old license plates Nevada

How toRegister Your Vehicle

Registering your vehicle in the state of Nevada is required for anyone that is a resident of the state, or certain non-residents that fit specific criteria. If you fail to register your car in the state of Nevada you risk receiving a $1,000 fine.

If You Bought Your Car from a Dealer

If you buy your new vehicle from a dealer in the state of Nevada, registering your car is pretty straightforward. If the car is already registered in Nevada, you must register your new vehicle before the expiration date on the placard.

What you will need to register your vehicle:

  1. Nevada Evidence of Insurance Card
  2. Dealer Report of Sale (green copy)
  3. Nevada Emission Vehicle Inspection Report (if needed, this must be issued by the dealer)
  4. Application for Vehicle Registration (VP 222)

If your dealer participates in the Electronic DRS program, you might be able to register online. Check your Dealer Report of Sale for the letters EDRS to be sure. Otherwise you need to go to the Nevada DMV in person to register your vehicle.

Please note that sales tax is paid directly to the dealer.

If You Bought Your Car from a Private Party

If you purchase a car from someone other than a dealer, it must be registered with the state of Nevada within 30 days. This includes purchases from family or if the car was a gift.

What you will need to register your vehicle:

  1. Nevada Evidence of Insurance Card
  2. Title or Security Agreement from a Financial Institution
  3. Nevada Emission Vehicle Inspection Report (if needed)
  4. VIN Inspection (if not previously registered in Nevada)
  5. Current odometer reading (if less than 10 years old)
  6. Application for Vehicle Registration (VP 222)

You must obtain insurance for the vehicle before driving on a public street. You will also be required to remove the old license plates and surrender them. Finally, you need to complete a Bill of Sale for your records.

Sales on or after January 1, 2006, are not subject to sales taxes.

If Your Car Is from Out of State

When you move to the state of Nevada, it is important that you transfer the registration within 30 days of becoming a resident. If you do not register your car in this amount of time you may face an initial fine of $1,000.

Military, out-of-state students, foreign exchange students, border state employees, tourists or seasonal residents do not need to transfer the registration of their vehicles.

In order to transfer the registration of your vehicle, you must first be a resident of Nevada and have a valid Nevada drivers license.

What you need to register an out-of-state vehicle in Nevada:

  1. Drivers License
  2. Nevada Evidence of Insurance Card
  3. Nevada Emissions Vehicle Inspection Report (if necessary)
  4. Current Registration(s) and License Plates
  5. Title(s), Unless Held By Lienholder
  6. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Inspection
  7. Fees

It is important that you remember that you must apply for and pass the test for your Nevada drivers license before registering your out-of-state vehicle within 30 days. For more information about out-of-state registration please visit theNevada DMV New Residents Page.

Nevada Vehicle Registration Fees

When registering your vehicle in the state of Nevada, you will need to pay the necessary fees and taxes.

Fee details:

  1. Registration fee for every car regardless of weight: $33
  2. Registration fee for every motorcycle: $33
  3. Registration for travel trailer: $27
  4. Taxes are based on the original Manufacturers Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) set when the vehicle was new.

You can get an estimate of the fees you will need to pay on your vehicle by visiting the State of Nevada DMV Online Fee Estimates.

If you are a new resident of Nevada there is a fee of $28.25 for the title. There is also a $6 Safety Fee on motorcycle registrations.

Remember it is your responsibility to register your vehicle within the allotted amount of time. You have 30 days after purchasing a vehicle or after you become a resident of the state. Failing to apply for Nevada vehicle registration may result in an initial $1,000 fine.

Video liên quan