Home Cars Arkansas Vehicle Registration
Arkansas Vehicle RegistrationModified date: December 22, 2019ShareFacebookTwitterLinkedinReddItEmailPrint
New and Used Arkansas Vehicle Registration
In accordance to Arkansas Vehicle Registration laws, you have to apply for title and registration when you acquire a new or used vehicle that has not been previously registered to your name. You must do this within 30 days of the date of transfer or within 30 days of the date when a previous lien was released (whatever is later). Arkansas vehicle registration law also requires that the application for a title must be signed by the all the owner of the motor vehicle.
The following are required in order to complete an AR registration for a new or used Arkansas vehicle registration:
AR vehicle registration requires that Vehicle Identification Number verification be performed for vehicles with out of state titles that have been branded with designations such as Prior Salvage, or Salvage. This can be done by a certified law enforcement officer of Arkansas.
The certificate of origin from a manufacturer must be properly assigned to the vehicle buyer if it is a new motor vehicle. If it s a used vehicle, the previous owners title properly must be assigned to the buyer.
AR vehicle registration requires a bill of sale or invoice reflecting the purchased price of the motor vehicle including trade-in information.
AR vehicle registration requires odometer Statement for any vehicles less than 10 years old which should be signed by both the seller and the buyer.
AR registration requires a copy of the lien contract that is signed if you have financed the vehicles purchase.
AR vehicle registration requires proof from the county assessor that shows that the vehicle has been listed for assessment or assessed in the current year.
AR registration requires proof that any personal property taxes that are due by October 10th of the previous year have been paid. Acceptable proof can be your receipt from the county tax collector, or your certification of payment which is stamped on the assessment papers.
AR vehicle registration requires proof of current liability insurance on the vehicle being titled and registered.
AR registration requires current registration certificate if you are transferring your previous vehicles license plates to your new vehicle.
AR registration, sales tax, title fees: The state of Arkansas has a sales and use tax rate of 6 percent and 7 percent for Texarkana residents for motor vehicles with a gross purchase price that is equal to or greater than $2500. Tax is calculated on the total delivery price which includes freight charges, rebates, and extra equipment. This does not include the Federal Excise Tax.
DMV Registration Renewal of your Arkansas Vehicle Registration
Before your AR registration expires, you will receive a DMV registration renewal notice in the mail for your Arkansas vehicle registration. Whether or not you see this notice, you must renew your AR registration on time. If you are late, you will be charged $3 for every 10 days that you missed the deadline by, unless you sign an affidavit stating that you did not drive the vehicle after the date of expiration.
Arkansas vehicle registration provides you with the option to complete your DMV registration renewal either online, in person, phone, or by mail. You can use the Streamline Auto Renewal (STAR) service to renew your AZ vehicle registration online, where you should have your registration renewal card, odometer reading, RIN and verification code, and credit card ready. If you complete your DMV registration renewal in person, you will need your current registration or renewal card, proof of insurance, tax assessment, and payment for fees ready when you go to the revenue office. You can call the toll-free number (888) 389-8336 to complete your Arkansas vehicle registration renewal as well. If you wish to send your DMV registration renewal, you must have your paperwork and payment sent to the Department of Finance and Administration Office of Motor Vehicles.
commentsShareFacebookTwitterLinkedinReddItEmailPrintPrevious articleCar Payment CalculatorNext articleKentucky Vehicle Registrationadmin