tvguy said:I am in California, and my kids cars had to be in an adults name. Just like an adult has to sign for...and assume liability for.....16 and 17 year olds to even get a Driver's license.Click to expand...
with very few exceptions minors can't own one in Washington state either-in fact a minor who does OR a person who gifts/transfers title/ sells to a minor can be fined up to $250 or do 90 days in county jail (I've heard this is to discourage those who can't legally own/register/insure from using their kids or paying a teenager to register the car in their name).
pixxi said:My daughter just bought her first car. Is it better to put the car in a parents name vs the teens. I then assume that it is better to say the 3rd car for the family is not for the teen when taking out car insurance?Click to expand...
with our insurance our agent looks to which car is more costly to insure/who gets the better rate among our household-so as a lower cost to insure/'older' female driver I always get 'assigned' to the most costly car while dd gets assigned to the least costly. all 3 of us can drive any of the 3 cars so it doesn't really matter who is assigned to who.
our state requires drivers ed and training-so no discounts for that but dd did the insurance company's on-line drivers ed for a discount, gets one for maintaining a 3.0 gpa and another for keeping her mileage under a certain amount each year. I know some families with kids away at college (without a car) who drop the kids from coverage for the months they are at school (but add them back in for winter, spring and summer breaks).
Denise W said:if you have the same number of cars as drivers, you can "assign" each driver to the car that is their's, and the premium will be rated that way. If you have more drivers than cars, the youthful driver will be rated on the highest rated car (even if they never drive it), which means the premium could be very high. Most people find that it costs them less to buy an older car for the youthful driver, just have liability coverage on it, and have the youthful driver assigned to that car.
DeniseClick to expand...
when our dd was newly licensed we had 3 drivers/2 cars. our insurance agent let us choose which car to assign her to so we chose the same car dh was assigned to in order to keep the premiums lower (but all of us could drive either car). when we purchased another vehicle there was another discussion with the agent to determine who would get assigned to each car (though all of us can drive all 3) to keep the premiums down.
I will say that one of the reasons I left state farm was because of some of their rules on rating drivers and what I felt (comparing with other companies) were excessive premiums.
something I will NEVER understand-having a kid get a driver's license if they have no desire/won't be driving for the foreseeable future. dd had no desire to drive until she was close to 19 but so many people said we should have her take the classes/get the license so she could 'ease' into driving-HECK NO. the minute a license is issued in our state the person has to get added to their existing (parent's) household auto insurance-no way were we going to pay more in premiums until we had to. get a permit-o.k., full blown license-nope.