From passenger cars to trucks, motorcycles to SUVs, and more vehicles, a registration is needed for each. In New York State, a vehicle registration is renewed every two years. You or your business has to register (and title) any vehicle that you own or lease. Typically, if youre leasing your vehicle, the car dealership youre leasing from will handle your first-time registration.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!Start Now
What is a New York vehicle registration and what does it consist of:
Your registration is that window sticker you place on your vehicle, along with the paper registration you keep inside your glove compartment. In addition, your New York registration also includes a license plate (which can also be transferred from another registered NY vehicle).
Finally, your NY registration will consist of a 10-day inspection extension sticker, if you didnt get your vehicle from a NY State auto dealer or if your vehicle is out-of-state. When applicable, youll also get a new title certificate within three months.
The fees fo a first-time vehicle registration in NY depend on the vehicles weight and where you live
All registered vehicles in NY have to get a safety inspection
Every 12 months, your vehicle needs a safety inspection from a DMV-licensed inspection station. In addition, an inspection is needed when theres a transfer of ownership. In other words, every time theres a vehicle title transfer.
If youre vehicle, including motorcycles, didnt go through an emissions inspection, then you can get fined, or receive a parking ticket, and you wont be able to renew your registration. Keep the receipt of your emissions inspection sticker to prove that your vehicle was inspected. Remember to display it on your vehicle. Emissions inspections expire the last day of the month punched on the inspection sticker.
DMV-licensed safety inspections stations display a yellow and black sign that reads Official Inspection Station. Motorcycle inspection stations have a blue and orange sign
If your emissions inspection sticker is expired more than 60 days, the fine is between $50-$100. For no inspection sticker, the fine is in the same range. A mandatory state surcharge of $88($93 in town and village courts)is added to the fine.
All registered vehicles in New York have to have insurance coverage
If youre driving in New York state, you must have auto liability insurance. There are precise insurance coverage requirements in NY, such as a minimum of $10,000 for a single accident.
If your car registration is in effect, you have to have car insurance, even if you dont use your vehicle, with some exceptions for motorcycles.
Theres a bunch of documents needed for a first-time registration in NY
When you register your new vehicle in the state of New York, there are several forms you need to compete:
An application for vehicle registration, also known as MV-82
Statement of transaction-sale or gift of a motor vehicle, trailer, all-terrain vehicle, vessel, or snowmobile, also known as DTF-802
Have to have a valid, not expired, New York State license/non-driver ID
Bill of sale
Proof of sales tax payments/sales tax form
Original title certificate or other proof that you own the vehicle
Have to have current New York state auto liability insurance coverage
If youre not registering your vehicle for the first time, you can renew your NY registration online with eTags.