How do you get around a suspended registration?

HomeTicket Information Common Traffic Tickets Speeding TicketsCell Phone TicketsMove Over LawCriminal Charges Driving While SuspendedDUIReckless DrivingReviewsContact UsHomepageNew

How do you get around a suspended registration?
  • Home
  • Ticket Information
  • Common Traffic Tickets
  • Speeding Tickets
  • Cell Phone Tickets
  • Move Over Law
  • Criminal Charges
  • Driving While Suspended
  • DUI
  • Reckless Driving
  • Reviews
  • Contact Us
  • Homepage
  • New York
  • Suspended New York Drivers License

Driving with Suspended/Revoked Vehicle Registration in NY (VTL 512)

Every vehicle in New York State must be registered with the DMV before it can be legally driven. Failure to renew ones registration is a non-moving violation, even if the driver is pulled over and caught driving the vehicle. However, if for any reason a vehicle registration is suspended or revoked by the DMV, driving the vehicle becomes a crime with serious penalties.

What Are the Penalties for Driving with a Suspended or Revoked Registration in NY?

Criminal record: Driving on a suspended registration is a misdemeanor offense in New York. Those who are convicted under VTL 512 will have a permanent criminal record.

Jail time: A first offense of driving on a suspended registration can result in a sentence of up to 30 days in jail. A second offense within 18 months can lead to up to 90 days in jail or 180 days for a third offense.

Fine: A driver can be fined between $50 and $100 for driving on a suspended registration. A second conviction in 18 months raises the fine to up to $200, or $500 for a third conviction.

Surcharge: In addition to the fine, drivers must pay a mandatory state surcharge of $88 (in a city) or $93 (in a town/village).

Reasons for Registration Suspension/Revocation in NY

There are two main reasons why a persons vehicle registration would be suspended by the NYS DMV: a lapse in insurance coverage or failure to pay registration fees. The former is the most common reason. In either case, resolving the suspended registration will not be simple and may require the assistance of an attorney.

Keep in mind that, if the lack of auto insurance coverage is the reason for the suspended registration, then the driver may also be guilty of driving without auto insurance. In addition, the DMV may also choose to suspend ones drivers license for not having insurance, which can lead to a charge of aggravated unlicensed operation.

Defenses for Driving on Suspended or Revoked Registration in NY

There are two main ways to defend against a charge of VTL 512. One is to prove that the suspension was not valid (e.g. the driver never had an insurance lapse). If the facts do not support the notion that the registration suspension was erroneous and invalid, then the person must negotiate with prosecutors to reduce the charge from a misdemeanor offense to a civil/traffic offense. This can be difficult to do without the help of a skilled attorney. An attorney can deal directly with the prosecutors to discuss the facts. He/she will be able to mount a strong defense with the best chance of persuading the prosecutor to reduce the charge. If the drivers case is strong enough, a prosecutor will negotiate to avoid taking the charges to trial, where he/she risks losing.

Need help with your Suspended/Revoked Vehicle Registration?

Get your FREE attorney consultation from Rosenblum Law.888-883-5529

Quick, free, and no obligation.

How to Reinstate a Suspended Registration in NY

To clear a suspended registration, a driver must first check with the DMV to figure out the reason for the suspension. Then he/she must resolve the underlying problem. For example, a driver who failed to pay the registration fee can make that payment and then pay the reinstatement fee.

Will a conviction for driving on a suspended registration raise my insurance rates?

Possibly. There is no data available from insurance companies on convictions for driving on a suspended registration, so it is unclear how much it will raise rates. However, insurers base their rates on how likely a driver is to get into an accident that results in a lawsuit or payout. A suspended registration has no bearing on the chances of having an accident, per se, but it is a criminal offense and evidence of careless behavior.

Data on Driving on a Suspended/Revoked Registration Charges in NY

In 2018, police charged 35,084 drivers with operating a vehicle with a suspended registration. This accounts for about 1% of all traffic tickets issued in the state last year. Its slightly above 2017s figure of 34,700. Nassau County saw the most drivers charged with this offense in 2018: 6,725. Overall, driving on a suspended registration is the 17th most common traffic ticket issued in New York State most years. About 10,000 more tickets are issued for suspended registrations than for tailgating each year.

Common Questions About Suspended or Revoked Registration in NY

  • Can police tell my registration is suspended without pulling me over?

Yes. Police have equipment that allows them to scan license plates. The scanner will show information on the vehicle, including the status of the registration.

  • If my registration is suspended, can I register another car?

The NYS DMV will not allow a person whose registration has been suspended to register any other vehicle until the reason for the suspension has been resolved and the suspension lifted.

  • Can I drive someone elses vehicle if my registration is suspended?

Yes, a person whose vehicle registration has been suspended may drive another persons vehicle (with the owners permission) with valid registration. The exception is if the DMV has also suspended the drivers license. In that case, the person may not drive any vehicle until the license has been reinstated.

  • Can someone else register my vehicle if my registration was suspended?

Likely not. The DMV will know the VIN of the vehicle in question and will likely deny the registration if the applicant for the new registration has the same last name as the person whose registration was suspended. It may also reject the registration if the new registrant resides at the same address as the prior owner. The reason is that this will appear (even if untrue) as though the driver whose registration was suspended is trying to defraud the DMV to circumvent the suspension.

However, if the individuals are not related and do not live at the same address, and if a valid bill of sale can be produced, it is possible that the DMV will allow the vehicle in question to be registered under a new name.

  • How many days can my insurance lapse before my registration is suspended?

Insurance companies are required by law to notify the DMV the moment they have stopped covering a driver. However, before that happens, the insurance company must (again, by law) provide notice between 10 and 20 days before the coverage lapses.

Who Should I Contact?

If you or someone you love has been charged with the criminal offense of driving on a suspended vehicle registration, contact an attorney right away to protect your rights. The attorneys at Rosenblum Law have many years experience fighting traffic tickets and other serious offenses in New York and New Jersey. Email or call 888-883-5529 for a free consultation about your case.

We've Fought over 500,000
Traffic Ticket Cases888-883-5529

Call us now for a quick, free, and no-obligation consultation.

About Our Firm

  • About Us
  • Client Reviews
  • Contact Us

Traffic Tickets

  • New York Traffic Tickets
  • Speeding Tickets
  • Cell Phone Tickets
  • Move Over Law
  • Leaving the Scene of An Accident
  • New Jersey Traffic Tickets
  • Speeding Tickets
  • Driving While Suspended
  • Careless Driving

Criminal Charges

  • Drug Possession
  • DWI / DUI
  • Reckless Driving

Data & Studies

  • Cell Phone Ticket Data
  • Speeding Ticket Data
  • Study: States with the Strictest Texting While Driving Laws
  • See All Data & StudiesFree consult call now

Archives

  • February 2022
  • January 2022
  • November 2021
  • September 2021
  • August 2021
  • June 2021
  • May 2021
  • April 2021
  • March 2021
  • January 2021
  • August 2020
  • June 2020
  • May 2020
  • December 2019
  • November 2019
  • October 2019
  • September 2019
  • August 2019
  • July 2019
  • June 2019
  • May 2019
  • March 2019
  • February 2019
  • December 2018
  • October 2018
  • September 2018
  • August 2018
  • July 2018
  • May 2018
  • April 2018
  • March 2018
  • January 2018
  • August 2017
  • July 2017
  • June 2017
  • May 2017
  • March 2017
  • February 2017
  • January 2017
  • December 2016
  • November 2016
  • September 2016
  • August 2016
  • July 2016
  • June 2016
  • March 2016
  • December 2015
  • November 2015
  • October 2015
  • August 2015
  • June 2015
  • May 2015
  • February 2015
  • January 2015
  • October 2014
  • September 2014
  • July 2014
  • March 2014
  • July 2013
  • June 2013
  • May 2013
  • April 2013
  • March 2013
  • February 2013
  • January 2013
  • December 2012
  • November 2012
  • October 2012
  • September 2012
  • August 2012
  • July 2012
  • June 2012
  • May 2012
  • March 2012
  • February 2012
  • January 2012
  • November 2011
  • August 2011

Categories

  • CDL
  • Cell Phone
  • Criminal law
  • Experts
  • FAQs
  • Judge Deborah Hamsho
  • Kent Ng, NYPD (Ret.)
  • Law News
  • marketing
  • Mike Gheller, NYPD
  • news
  • NYC
  • Ticket Blitz
  • Trooper Sam

Meta

  • Log in
  • Entries feed
  • Comments feed
  • WordPress.org

This website is attorney advertising and is administered by Rosenblum Law

Terms and Conditions | Privacy PolicyAll Rights Reserved

Video liên quan